During our 2024 Commitment to Justice Awards, Her Justice is celebrating our pro bono partners who have done outstanding work to help clients achieve results from the civil justice system! Amy Barasch, our Executive Director, offers opening remarks below.

Wins in the courtroom shift power into the hands of our clients. Often one client can experience multiple wins along the way. They might receive an order of protection while working on a custody decision; they might receive a work permit while waiting for a final decision on their legal status in the US.; or they might get freed from coerced debt as part of a divorce proceeding.  
All of these wins enable them to start fresh to build the future they want for themselves and their families – and our pro bono partners make that possible.  The foundation of Her Justice’s work is the responsive, creative, and determined lawyering of our partners.  
To our Award winners – CONGRATULATIONS! Our clients are lucky to have you in their corner, tilting the system’s power towards those who need its solutions.  THANK YOU for your unwavering commitment to justice!”

– Amy Barasch, Executive Director, Her Justice

Legal Team Award

The Legal Team Award is given to teams of pro bono attorneys who work together as an impressive unit – determined, coordinated, and ahead of the curve – to deliver wins for their clients. 
Sometimes a client can experience multiple wins along the way in several separate cases that take years to see through. This year, for the first time, Her Justice is delighted to recognize attorneys from two firms that worked sequentially on a single client’s litigated divorce and various immigration cases. These attorneys stood by her side every step of the way and are a testament to the power of our legal community’s collective efforts.   

We’re delighted to present the Legal Team Award to: 

Estelle Georges-Nason, Vincent J. Margiotta, Ashley Mullen, and Zainab R. Qureshi
Sidley Austin LLP

Adnan A. Qazi
Formerly of McDermott Will & Emery LLP

Pro Bono All-Star Award

The Pro Bono All-Star Award is given to individuals whose dedication to their clients reaches far beyond the scope of their pro bono role, whether that be translation services, legal representation, or more.

We’re delighted to recognize these volunteers whose exceptional commitment to their clients embodies Her Justice’s values:

Emma Blumer, Sabrina Bryan, Kate A. Clendenen, Yili Khamly, Ashley Youn-Jae Lee, Fatih Mercan, and Josh Oh
Foley & Lardner LLP

Todd A. Matras
Hogan Lovells

Maritza Rodriguez

Matt Slider
Milbank LLP



Firm Partnership Award

The Firm Partnership Award is given to institutions who have collaborated with Her Justice to deliver on the promise of pro bono which is that – by harnessing the private sector’s skill and desire to make a difference and matching it with Her Justice’s expertise in the civil justice system and connection to clientswe can tilt the system’s power back towards those who need its solutions. 
We’re delighted to present this year’s Firm Partnership Award to three institutions who have done outstanding work: 
White & Case LLP for their notable Her Justice Summer Associate Program 
Seward & Kissel LLP and U.S. Bank for their Uncontested Divorce Clinic collaboration 

Above & Beyond Award

The Above & Beyond Award is given to institutions and individuals who make remarkable contributions to help Her Justice achieve its various organizational goals. With this award, we honor those who show up in memorable ways to support Her Justice’s mission, in the many shapes that it takes. 
We’re delighted to present this year’s Above & Beyond Award to Akin for its history of excellent work with Her Justice over the years.  

John K. Geiger Award

Established in 2002, the John K. Geiger Award honors the memory of John Geiger, a deeply valued member of the Her Justice community who volunteered with the organization for years, first as a paralegal and then as an attorney. For more than 20 years, this award has been given to attorneys like John whose unyielding compassion and dedication towards their clients is in a league of its own.  
We’re delighted to present this year’s John K. Geiger Award to Jillian R. Kulikowski of Akin!